To Play, or Not To Play

Lakers Hamlet

Lakers Hamlet

To play, or not to play: that is the question:
Whether ’tis nobler in the mind to suffer…

Don’t worry LakHer fans I am ending the soliloquy there. Since I have a family full of English majors and a brother whose favorite Shakespeare play is Hamlet, I am going to stop while I am ahead.

Now back to the original question: to play, or not to play? I am referring to Kobe Bryant coming back this season. Kobe is going to be reevaluated next week. While watching the game last night, Charles Barkley kept bringing up an interesting point: he said Kobe should sit the rest of the season. He pointed out that the Lakers season is over and bringing Kobe back will just hurt the Lakers chances at a good pick. I have to agree.

I picked this soliloquy because it is famous and it fits. It is about suicide and death which I think is a good metaphor for this Lakers season. If Kobe is healthy but agrees not to play, that would be on par with suicide (for him of course), and the Lakers would be killing their season.

I strongly believe that we need to lose and take advantage of this draft. I think Lakers fans will be sorely disappointed with the free agency options this summer and instead we should put all of our effort into being the worst team possible so that we can get an amazing pick this summer and then go after Kevin Love in 2015. I think we have a real shot at him since he hates playing for the Timberwolves and he used to play for UCLA (we know those UCLA players like playing for the Lakers).

Now, back to my original point: Kobe should rest this season and let the Lakers plummet. I know as a fan that is a tough multimillion dollar pill to swallow. I love watching the Black Mamba play and it has been a tough year watching him on sit on the bench. However, we need to think big picture. I want him to stay healthy since he is old and has a massive contract. Additionally, I want that top pick.

I know this is a moot point since Kobe will never sit on the bench if he is healthy. That man has been known to put himself in the game since all coaches except the Zen Master fear him. My hope is that Gary somehow convinces him that it is in his best interest to sit tight.

If we really can’t convince Kobe to sit out the season, I vote we bring back Kwame Brown and any and all bad players just to make the worst roster possible. That shouldn’t be too difficult since we are already almost at that point.

2 thoughts on “To Play, or Not To Play

Leave a Reply

